Take time to think about the daily conversations that take place in your life, whether you chose to converse in them or strictly listen. How many topics brought up in these conversations can you place a finger on? Probably more than half, if not all of them. We gain our understanding of the world around us by conversing with others; by listening to their ideas, and by sharing ideas of our own. By sharing our ideas with others, we are collaborating. 

     In Fontaine and Hunters' "Collaborative writing in Composition Studies" many ideas regarding collaboration are expressed, including a few that I was not already familiar with. One that interested me was the fact that as a learner you must be open to new ideas in order to be successful in collaboration. If you are close-minded, there is a great chance that you will not open up to group work and the ideas that are out there other than your own. I find sometimes myself that there are days where I just want to work on my own, and because of this I do not take in a lot of the things that happen around me. One type of collaboration that I am familiar with is the idea of splitting up and then reforming into groups. This way, everyone can come up with their own opinions without being influenced by others, and then share there knowledge and come up with common agreements or disagreements.

     Although I am often not a fan of "group work", collaboration in the classroom happens often, and it is beneficial when it comes to research projects like the one that I am partaking in right now with my WRT class. If I were to complete the assignment on my own, I now realize that I would have adifficult time, because it took my entire groups ideas to form both a topic and a person that we would choose to interview. Overall, sometimes its better to have others to lean on, rather than just yourself.
Sam
4/3/2012 01:32:02 am

I like your opening paragraph. It was good to see your own understanding of collaboration, the reading's information and then your approach to our upcoming project.

Reply
Sabatino
4/3/2012 02:24:20 am

Interesting post. What is your understanding of dialogic and hierarchical approaches to collaboration?

Reply



Leave a Reply.