In preparation for our oral history/collaborated research project, Professor Mangini had us watch Food Inc. during our classroom time. To get our minds thinking, we were to pick three different questions that sparked our thoughts and write about them in this blog post. The following are the questions that I chose to answer:

Do you think eating healthy should be a right, a responsibility, or a privilege?
     Before beginning my college years, during my senior year, my eating habits got the best of me, and I gained a significant amount of weight. Freshman year brought changes, and instead of gaining my freshman fifteen, I decided to lose it. Because of this, eating healthy should be a responsibility, because like many other things in life, if you want something, you need to have the discipline to work for it. Because eating healthy is more expensive, it gives someone the iniciative to work hard for their health, to make money to feed their family. Also, living long means fueling your body with the correct things, it is your responsibility and your choice to do such a thing. Not everyone needs to choose to do such a thing, but I see it as we are responsible for our choices and our lifestyles.

There is a lot of research showing that healthful food makes people feel better, have more energy, and stay well. Do you think if more people knew about this research, they would make different choices? 
     Yes, I strongly believe in this theory. I know that ever since I began eating healthier I have had a higher amount of self-esteem, and my body feels as if it can accomplish anything. If I fall off the healthy band wagon and start to eat tons of junk, I find myself becoming more tired, and I have less of a motivation to go to the gym which I usually do on a regular basis. I know from experience that being sick effects everything in my life and it makes me miserable, as I am sure that everyone else feels the same way. To avoid this would make the days that we speand on earth more enjoyable.

Whose responsibility do you think it is to inform us about what is in our food?
In my opinion, I believe that it is the producer's responsibility tp inform us about the food that they are supplying to us, which we are putting into our bodies. If something is harmful, I want to know, and if they are the ones to tell me, there is a less of a chance that I will be dissapointed with their products. Also, if a producer is having an issue with their products, it should be featured on the news, whether on TV or in a paper, so that we are aware of what we are going to be eating in the future.



Leave a Reply.